800 West Weatherford St. Fort Worth, TX 76102
817-335-9500
jeff@cowtownlaw.com

Fort Worth Theft Lawyer

Fort Worth Theft Lawyer

What exactly is theft, you might ask? According to the Texas Penal code theft is basically defined as taking someone’s property without their permission. Property is defined as anything of value, including money or services. Theft charges are quite detrimental to your future. It is considered a crime of moral turpitude and a conviction for a crime of that status will haunt you for the rest of your life. It’s not a game! your reputation is at stake. contact an experienced theft crime lawyer as soon as possible.

Theft Crime Penalties

Theft charges in Texas range widely, from class C misdemeanors to first-degree felonies. It’s all dependent upon the value of goods stolen. Take a look at the punishment or fines you may be facing.

• less than $100: Class C misdemeanor A fine of not to exceed more than $500
• $100 – $750: Class B misdemeanor No more than 180 days in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than $2,000
• $750 – $2,500: Class A misdemeanor No more than 1 year in a county jail and/or a fine of not more than $4,000
• $2,500 – $30,000: State jail felony 180 days to 2 years in a state jail and/or a fine of no more than $10,000
• $30,000 – $150,000: Third-degree felony 2 to 10 years in a state prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000
• $150,000 – $300,000: Second-degree felony 2 to 20 years in a state prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000
• $300,000 or more: First-degree felony 5 to 99 years in a state prison and/or a fine of no more than $10,000

Let’s take a closer look at a class C misdemeanor for a second. Suppose you get caught stealing at some supermarket somewhere. It’s $5 in value, so you’re charged with a class C misdemeanor. You’re thinking to yourself, “Why would I get a lawyer? they’re already offering a measly fine of $500, it’s only going to cost more for an attorney”, well you’re right. It will cost you more to clear your name, but it’s well worth it. Texas is now enhancing thefts if the defendant has any prior conviction. If you have two prior convictions, you didn’t learn your lesson the first time or second time and you get a third one. Even if all three are class C, your charge will be enhanced to a state jail felony with up to 2 years in prison.

Free Consultation

Robbery

It can’t be stressed enough to call your lawyer as soon as your charged with ANY crime. Theft crimes come in many different forms, including robbery. It’s crazy how quick a simple theft can quickly get out of hand. For instance, if you were stealing from some big store and security is on to you. You take a run for it, thinking you’ll get away with this one. Let me tell you first, running is the worst option you could ever take. But when that security guard trips and falls, that’s on you, whether you touched him or not. You’re theft of some petty $5 item or whatever you took, is now considered robbery, a second-degree felony with a potential 5 – 10 years.

Your robbery charge could become aggravated robbery if you caused serious bodily injury, display a weapon, or the crime is committed against a disabled person or elderly. Your looking at a first-degree felony and 5 – 99 years. These are examples of how quickly your situation can get out of hand. It takes an experienced 5-star rated criminal defense attorney to turn your situation around. Give The Law Office of Jeff S. Hoover a call today and we will review your case, free of charge.

Burglary in Texas

Burglary comes in a few different forms, it’s all dependent upon the situation at hand, where the crime took place and who it took place against. Burglary is defined as entering a building, habitation (place where people live), remaining hidden in said building with the intent to commit or actually commit a theft, assault, or felony. Generally speaking, there are three types of burglary

• Burglary of a building – considered a state jail felony with up to two years in state jail
• Burglary of a habitation – considered a second-degree felony, with a maximum of 20 years in prison
• Burglary of a vehicle – considered a class A misdemeanor and comes with a possible one year county jail.

Experienced Fort Worth Criminal Defense Lawyer

You will get the individualized attention your specific case needs when you contact The Law Office of Jeff S. Hoover today @ 817-335-9500. We are here for you to walk you through these challenging times and keep your record clean.