800 West Weatherford St. Fort Worth, TX 76102
817-335-9500
jeff@cowtownlaw.com

Fort Worth DWI Lawyer

Fort Worth DWI Lawyer

The Texas legal limit for intoxication is 0.08 Blood Alcohol Concentration. Catching a Driving While Intoxicated is a serious crime in Texas. The three strike rule will turn your 3rd DWI into a felony automatically. After having two or more DWI offenses in five years, you are required to install an interlock ignition switch. You can keep your right to drive and your record clean though if you contact The Law Office of Jeff S. Hoover today.

Texas DWI Penalties

It’s important to be aware of the law and what punishments come with your actions. If you are pulled over or know someone who has been pulled over drinking and driving, this is the trouble you could be facing.

First Offense

• A fine of up to $2,000
• Three days to 180 days in jail
• Loss of driver license up to a year
• Annual fee of $1,000 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

Second Offense

• A fine of up to $4,000
• One month to a year in jail
• Loss of driver license up to two years
• Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500 or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

Third Offense

• A $10,000 fine
• Two to 10 years in prison
• Loss of driver license up to two years
• Annual fee of $1,000, $1,500, or $2,000 for three years to retain driver license

Hiring an experienced lawyer in building a DWI defense is vital to keeping your record clean. With enough evidence stacked in your favor, you could have your case reduced to a minor charge, or even a case dismissal.

Let’s talk about getting your case dismissed.

Administrative License Revocation

Your license is likely going to be suspended. ALR is the process by which the government decides if they take your after receiving a DWI. Your license can be suspended up to 180 days for not submitting to a breath or blood alcohol test, or 90 days if your breath or blood alcohol test is .08 or higher. Notice, that at the time of the of the incident, the officer is required to take your license and give you a notice of suspension. You have ONLY 14 DAYS from the notice of suspension to request a hearing. It’s important to act now and hire an attorney with the experience to dismiss your case.

Occupational Driver’s License

Don’t fret if your license does get suspended, there is always an option. An Occupational drivers license is a special license that allows individuals who have had their normal license suspended or revoked, to keep driving legally. You will need a few items before we can get you back on the road.

• The certified copy of the petition and a certified copy of the court order granting the occupational license
• An SR-22 certificate of insurance.
• Occupational license fee
• Usually some sort of reinstatement fee, depending on your specific situation

We will do everything to keep you on the road during this challenging time.

DWI or DUI?

Yes, there is a difference between a DWI and a DUI. Driving under the influence is given to any minor under the age of 21 who drive with alcohol in their system. It is just a class C misdemeanor that may come with a fine. Driving while intoxicated is anyone who is driving and their blood alcohol content is over the legal limit.

Alcohol-Related Offenses:

• Driving While Intoxicated
• Driving Under the Influence
• Driving While Intoxicated with Child Passenger (felony)
• 2nd DWI Offense
• 3rd DWI Offense (felony)
• Intoxication Assault (felony)
• Intoxication Manslaughter (felony)
• Boating While Intoxicated
• Failure to Stop and Give Information (FSGI)
• Failure to Stop and Render Aid (FSRA)